About the Program

In November 2009, the Fund for the City of New York, along the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, recognized the first winners in the its new program: the Sloan Awards for Excellence in Teaching Science and Mathematics in New York City Public High Schools. Its purpose is to recognize creative mathematics and science teachers who achieve superb results and inspire young people to pursue careers in science and mathematics.

Each year, seven awards are given. Each teacher receives $5,000 and the school's science or mathematics department receives $2,500 to be used to strengthen their program.

To qualify for nomination, a teacher must be a New York City high school math or science teacher for at least five years, must teach at least four periods a day, and demonstrate excellence in teaching and in achieving results. The winners are chosen by an independent panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians and educators.

Among the criteria to be used in the evaluation of the candidates are:

• Student achievement, progress and outcomes
• Teaching style and effectiveness
• Innovation and creativity in the classroom environment
• Extracurricular mathematics or science activities for students
• Success in motivating students with diverse or special backgrounds
• Use of technology where appropriate
• Promotes mathematics and science inside and outside the school
• Encourages students to pursue careers in science and mathematics, including teaching

How to Nominate

Nominations are welcome from principals, supervisors, colleagues, students, former students, parents and others who are familiar with the teacher's work. Any science of mathematics teacher who has taught in one of New York City's 422 public high schools for at least five years may be nominated. Nominations for the awards are accepted throughout the year.  Click here to submit a nomination online.


Core Programs

Cash Flow Loans

Partner Project Program

Sloan Public Service Awards

Sloan Awards for Excellence in Teaching Science and Mathematics

2019 Winners

2018 Winners

2017 Winners

2016 Winners

2015 Winners

2014 Winners

2013 Winners

2012 Winners

2011 Winners

2010 Winners

2009 Winners

About the Program

Nomination Form

NYC Community Planning Fellows